UNAPPROVED MINUTES OF May 19, 2022

The Moody County Commissioners met in special session on Thursday, May 19, 2022 in the Commission Room of the Courthouse at 9:00 AM, with the following members present: Chair Carla Bruning, and John Schiefelbein, with Tawny Heinemann, Auditor as Clerk of the Board. Also present Marty Skroch, Commission Assistant, Paul Lewis, States Attorney and Carleen Wild, Moody County Enterprise. Dan Miles, Commissioner, and Randy Hemmer, Commissioner, joined by phone. Absent: Rick Veldkamp.

Chair Carla Bruning called the meeting to order. Motion by Schiefelbein, seconded by Miles to approve the agenda. Voting "aye": Schiefelbein, Miles, Hemmer. Voting "nay": none.

Motion by Schiefelbein, seconded by Miles to approve the following resolution. Voting "aye": Schiefelbein, Miles, Hemmer. Voting "nay": none.

RESOLUTION NO. 22051901

RESOLUTION DECLARING DISASTER

WHEREAS, Moody County, South Dakota on May 12, 2022, suffered from a severe storm and derecho event that produced straight line winds in excess of 90 mph, and

WHEREAS, the following conditions exist in Moody County as a result of the disaster:

- Down power lines
- Uprooting trees
- · Damages to public infrastructure

WHEREAS, Moody County has committed all available resources and taken all possible actions within the jurisdiction boundaries to combat and alleviate the disaster, local resources are not adequate to cope with the situation.

NOW THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED: That the Board of County Commissioners of Moody County declare a disaster, and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED: That, in accordance with SDCL §7-18A-8, this Resolution shall become effective immediately upon passage; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED: We, the Board of Commissioners of Moody County, respectfully petition the Governor of South Dakota and the President of the United States to provide with all dispatch and remedies proper state and/or federal assistance for the alleviation of this disaster.

Dated this 17th day of May, 2022.

ATTEST: <u>Tawny Heinemann</u> <u>Carla Bruning, Chair</u>

Moody County Auditor Moody County Board of Commissioners

Motion by Miles, seconded by Hemmer to adjourn the meeting at 12:10 PM. Voting "aye": Schiefelbein, Miles, Hemmer. Voting "nay": none.

ATTEST: <u>Tawny Heinemann</u> <u>Carla Bruning, Chair</u>

Moody County Auditor Moody County Board of Commissioners